The National Federation of Co-operative Sugar Factories (NFCSF), an apex body comprising all 258 co-operative sugar factories and Nine State Federations, across the country, unveiled 21 awards for cooperative sugar factories for their best performance in 2021. NFCSF president Jaiprakash Dandegaonkar made a formal announcement in this regard.

The cooperative sugar factories are shortlisted for these prestigious awards after evaluating their performance by an expert committee headed by director of sugar. It undertook a rigorous exercise and thus evaluated their performance in Cane Development, Technical Efficiency, Financial Management, Highest Cane Crushing, Highest Sugar Recovery and Maximum Sugar Export.

As many as 108 cooperative sugar factories from across the country responded to the NFCSF’s initiative and took part in it for this year’s (2021), Technical Efficiency Awards. Among those 46 were from Maharashtra, 13 from Uttar Pradesh, 11 from Tamil Nadu, 10 each from Haryana and Gujarat 9 from Punjab, 7 Karnataka and one each from Madhya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh respectively.

Accordingly, a group was formed from Maharashtra, Gujarat and Karnataka with the highest sugar Recovery (at least 10 per cent) in the country. A total of 63 cooperative sugar factories in the country participated in this group. A second group of remaining (less than 10 per cent average recovery), states was formed and a total of 45 cooperative sugar factories included in this group.

While explaining the need of forming such groups Dandegaonkar said this would encourage factories to enhance qualities in sugar production and imbibe competitive spirit among them.

“The NFCSF decided to club distribution of the awards for the last two years due to Covid pandemic. Former Union Minister Sharad Pawar, Cooperation Minister Amit Shah, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Piyush Goyal and all the stakeholders of the Indian sugar sector across India would be invited. Besides, concerned official would also be invited,” he said.

Managing director of the NFCSF, Prakash Naiknavare said the Award distribution ceremony would be held at the NCUI’s Auditorium in New Delhi on November 16, 2021.

While Pandurang Sahakari Sakhar Karkhana Ltd, Solapur, Maharashtra has been selected for the prestigious Vasantdada Patil Award for Best Cooperative Sugar factory in the country, Vithalrao Shinde SSK Ltd, Pimpalner, Maharashtra got the first prize in the Maximum Sugar Export Award and Sahyadri Sahakari Sakahar Karkhana Ltd., Solapur in Maharashtra got the second prize in it.

The other award winner factories in various categories including High Sugar Recovery Area and Other Sugar Recovery Arera , are as follows :

Cane Development (High sugar recovery area) : First prize- Datta Shetkari SSK Ltd., Shirol, Distt. Kolkhapur, Maharashtra. Second Prize- Rajarambapu Patil SSK Ltd, Sangli, Maharashtra

(Other Sugar Recovery Area ) :
First Prize-The Kaithal Coop.Sugar Mills Ltd., Kaithal, Haryana. Second Prize-Kisan Sahakari Chini Mills Ltd,Najibabad , Uttar Pradesh.

Technical Efficiency Award (High Sugar Recovery Area) First Prize- Vighnahar SSK Ltd., Junnar \Ambegaon, Pune, Maharashtra. Second Prize-Dr Patangrao Kadam Sonhira SSK Ltd., Sangli, Maharashtra.

(Other Sugar Recovery Area ) :First Prize-The Shahabad Cooperative Sugar Mills Ltd., Haryana. Second Prize-The Kisan Sahkari Chini Mills Ltd., Sathiaon, Azamgarh, Utter Pradesh

Financial Management-(High sugar recovery area) :First Prize- Narmada Khand Udyog Shakari Mandli Ltd., Gujarat. Second Prize- Khedut Sahakari Khand Udyog Mandli Ltd., Bardoli, Gujarat

(Other Sugar Recovery Area ) :First Prize-D.S.8,Subramaniya Siva Coop. Sugar Mills Ltd., Tamil Nadu. Second Prize- Navalsingh Sahakari Shakkar Karkhana Maryadit, Burhanpur, Madhya Pradesh

Highest Cane Crushing (High sugar recovery area) :Jawahar Shetkari SSK Ltd., Kolhapur, Maharashtra (Other Sugar Recovery Area) : Ramala Sahkari Chini Mills Ltd., Uttar Pradesh

Highest Sugar Recovery: Ajinkyatara SSK Ltd., Satara, Maharashtra (Other Sugar Recovery Area) The Kisan Sahakari Chini Mills Ltd., Gajraula, Uttar Pradesh

Overall Best Cooperative Sugar Factory (High sugar recovery area) :Chhatrapati Shahu SSK Ltd., Kagal, Kolhapur, Maharashtra(Other Sugar Recovery Area ) :Kallakurichi-II Cooperative Sugar Mills Ltd, Tamil Nadu

Among the 21 winner factories, Maharashtra figured top bagging ten Awards while Uttar Pradesh stands second. It got four Awards. Gujarat, Haryana and Tamil Nadu got two Awards each respectively and Madhya Pradesh got one.