Cargill to acquire Smet to expand its chocolate offerings

Cargill is close to an agreement to acquire Smet, a Belgium-based supplier of chocolate and sweets decorations. Smet has five production facilities, two R &D centres and eight sales and support offices located in Asia, Europe, India and North America.

Cargill to acquire Smet to expand its chocolate offerings

Cargill to acquire Smet to expand its chocolate offerings

Inge Demeyere, managing director of Cargill’s chocolate activities in Europe said, “The proposed acquisition emphasizes Cargill’s commitment to its customers in the gourmet segment, building on the strengths of both organizations and enhancing complementary capabilities. We will broaden our product portfolio and services to artisans and chocolatiers, bakery, hospitality businesses and food service industries. Smet enjoys great market recognition. As their brand joins Cargill’s existing brand portfolio, their unique entrepreneurial capabilities will be leveraged to allow for a dedicated focus on gourmet customers.”

Cargill said, “The acquisition of Smet will provide “significant opportunities” to accelerate growth in the gourmet category. The company expects customers to benefit from high speed-to-market with new decoration technology, enhanced production capabilities and a wide-ranging product portfolio.”

Theo Graban, executive member of the board of Smet said, “For over five decades, Smet is driven by a passion for chocolate and stands out with a relentless problem-solving attitude, innovative mindset and great flexibility.”

Johan Smet, chief executive officer of Smet, added, “Cargill provides us with a unique opportunity to serve our customers with a globally integrated cocoa and chocolate supply chain, a renowned sustainability approach and deep chocolate expertise.”

The company’s product range includes Gerkens cocoa powders, chocolate, coatings, fillings, cocoa liquors and cocoa butters. Cargill’s cocoa and chocolate business includes processing plants in Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Côte d’Ivoire, France, Germany, Ghana, Indonesia, The Netherlands, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Share Button

Comments are closed